Thursday, November 29, 2007

check orkut through RSS feed

With orkut being blocked in almost every school, college and office, it has become quite difficult to catch up with the latest scraps that your friends send to you. But many would say that there are loads of proxy sites to log into orkut but again are they safe? or do you trust your username and password being sent to google servers via these proxy sites? Atleast I don’t. So here is the safest way to do it. I m going to share a trick that you can use to check your scraps regularly without even signing into orkut.

First thing you need is your orkut uid (i.e. userID). To get your just go to your profile page and you will find something like this in your address bar.

http://www.orkut.com/Profile.aspx?uid=13907817624893311265

(Look for the numbers in bold, this is your uid!)

Now use this link http://www.indian-tv.com/orkut.php?uid= and replace the with your own . The full address will look something like this.

http://www.indian-tv.com/orkut.php?uid=13907817624893311265

And you are done just copy and paste the complete address in the address bar and see your scraps without even signing in! You can even add this address to your favorite RSS Feed Reader and read your scraps directly from it instead of using a proxy site for orkut.

Saturday, November 24, 2007

Difference between COMMAND.COM and CMD.EXE?

As you probably know, MS-DOS was the predecessor to Windows. It was character mode only, and you ran programs by typing their name at the command prompt. MS-DOS was created when 16 bit processors were becoming popular, and its widespread adoption is credited with kick starting the rise in popularity of the personal computer.

Then two things happened: Windows, and 32 bit processors. Fast forward to today, and MS-DOS has pretty much disappeared from the landscape - Windows, and its rich graphical interface, is everywhere. The same is true for the 16bit processor. Most all contemporary machines are built on various flavors of 32bit processors.

What does all that have to do with COMMAND.COM and CMD.EXE? It's quite simple really: CMD.EXE is a command line processor for 32bit Windows. Much like MS-DOS before it, it provides a character-mode only user interface into which you can type commands to run programs. CMD.EXE is a 32 bit program that is fully a part of Windows - in fact it's what gets run when you select Command Prompt on the Windows Accessories menu.
COMMAND.COM, on the other hand, exists only for compatibility and 16bit programs. It exists solely for those programs which have not been updated since the days of MS-DOS. It's designed to run 16bit applications, and operates just like the old MS-DOS did.
On the surface, they're very similar. Even though CMD.EXE was a complete re-write, it's based on the same concepts and similar syntax. But the differences become quickly apparent. Let's used your "CD" example from above.


In CMD.EXE, you can change to the "Program files" directory by doing this:
cd "\Program Files"

Note the quotes around the directory name. Try doing that in COMMAND.COM and you'll get this:
cd "\Program Files"
Parameter format not correct - "\program
The problem is COMMAND.COM doesn't know about long file names (filenames longer than 8.3) or filenames that have spaces in them, and it doesn't have a way to quote the name. So if you still need to, how do you CD to that directory in COMMAND.COM? Well, first you need to find out the alternate, 8.3 name of that directory ... its short name:

dir /x
Directory of C:\
08/21/2005 09:50 AM PROGRA~1 Program Files
(I've removed some of the lines of output for brevity.) The "/X" parameter to DIR tells it to include the "shortname" in the output. In this case that's "PROGRA~1", a machine generated alternative name for "PROGRAM FILES". Now we can CD to that in COMMAND.COM:
cd progra~1
dir
Volume in drive C is
Volume Serial Number is B026-62CA
Directory of C:\PROGRA~1
08/21/2005 09:50 AM .
08/21/2005 09:50 AM ..
03/24/2005 04:42 PM Adobe
...etc...
The bottom line is actually quite simple: use CMD.EXE unless you know you need COMMAND.COM for compatibility with some older 16bit program. And even then, if you try and run a 16 bit program in CMD.EXE, it will typically run it within COMMAND.COM for you anyway, so you still may not need to know or care.
And in case you're wondering, yes ... something similar is coming down the road as 64 bit processors begin to arrive. The 64bit version of Windows does, I believe, include another command processor, one for native 64bit command-line programs.

Saturday, November 10, 2007

NotePad Trick : This app can break

I was too amazed by this try it out.

1. Open Notepad

2. Type the following:

this app can break

3. Save the file and Close.

4. Again Open the file and See the Magic


The same thing can be observed for following statements.

Bush hid the facts
Andy can not Flirt
Abhi can not flirt

actually any sentence of 4-3-3-5 sequence generates the same output.
Try out as many you want.

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Speedup Windows XP in Minutes!

1. Disable extra startup programs

Several items add up to the start up list when you install different software. Such programs are loaded when your system boots and remain in memory (RAM), they also continuously use processor. Here are is what you have to do to make them go away:
Goto Start>Run
Type "msconfig", without quotations
Hit enter key or click the OK button
A window will show up, you have to click the startup tab, as shown in the figure
In the Startup tab you will see several boxes and some of them will selected (checked). All you have to do is to uncheck extra items that are of no use. If you run an antivirus program it is not recommended to uncheck it.
After making you choices press the OK button, you will be prompted to restart computer to apply changes.
After restarting your computer a dialogue will be displayed. You can check the option for not showing this dialogue every time your PC reboots.


2. Disable Extra Services

On menu opened by msconfig command, there is also another tab for Services. Click it and check "Hide All Microsoft Services" option. This option will display you list of third party services. Uncheck the services that are undesirable. As usual you have to reboot to apply the changes.


3. Adjust Display Settings


XP has a very cool looking user interface, but it consumes a certain amount of memory. To make it a little lightweight you have to:
Right click My Computer and select Properties
Click the Advanced tab
Go to Performance>Settings (have to click settings button in the performance section)
Uncheck all except: Use visual styles on windows and buttons Use drop shadows for icons labels on the desktop Show translucent selection rectangle Show shadows under mouse pointer Show shadows under menus
Finally click Apply and OK


4. Remove Widgets and Background

Different third party widgets and visual styles like for Vista like look and feel make your system slow. If you remove such packages you system will perform better on CPU and memory intensive tasks. Selecting default and no wallpaper as background also gives better performance than that of "high quality" wallpapers.


5. Folder Browsing

When you try to browse folder, Windows automatically searches for printer and network files. This is a performance overhead. To fix this you have to follow following steps:
Open My Computer
Click Tools>Folder Options
Select the View tab and unselect the check box for Automatically search for network folders and printers
Click Apply then OK and finally reboot to apply the change.


6. Indexing Service

Windows XP comes with a very heavy and not so good "Indexing Service". The service "claims" to makes indexes of different files on your computer so that they can be retrieved easily. The service consumes a large amount of memory, and it has no major advantage either. To disable it you have to:
Go to Start>Control Panel
Double click Add or Remove programs.
Select Add/Remove Windows Components, a new dialogue, as shown in the figure, will appear.
Uncheck the Indexing Service, if not already unchecked
Click Next to finalize

7. Size of Page File

Page file size is not constant by default. Due to this operating system has to resize the file each time when more space is required, this is a performance overhead. All you have to do is to set the file size to a reasonable limit. Follow the steps:
Right click My Computer, Select Properties then Advanced tab
Click the settings button under the performance section
Click the Advanced tab
Click Change button under the Virtual memory section
"Virtual Memory" dialogue will appear (also shown in the figure below)
Highlight the drive containing page file, which is C: by default
Select the Custom size radio button and give same values in Initial size and Maximum size fields.
Click Set and OK buttons to apply the changes
If your system has a sufficiently large memory (1 or 2 GB) then you can even disable paging.

8. Enable Direct Memory Access (DMA)

Go to:
Right Click My Computer, select properties
Select the Hardware tab
Click the Device Manager button
Double click IDE/ATAPI controllers
Keep on checking if DMA is enabled for each, you have to double click each option click Advanced Settings tab (as shown in figure) The tab may or may not be available for each option. It is only available in Primary and Secondary Channels.
Set the transfer mode to "DMA if Available" both for Device 1 and 0
Perform the same operation for other items in the list, if applicable.

Tuesday, March 20, 2007

Vertical Text Selection In Word

Here is a nifty tip for selecting text in Word that many people don’t know about. Normally when you select text in Word, you do so horizontally, from right to left or left to right. However, what do you do if the text you need to select is vertical; for example, what if you want to bold the first word on each line? You can select and bold each word individually or you can make a vertical selection.
To make a vertical selection, hold down the ALT key as you drag the mouse pointer to select the text. If you want to select the first word on each line, hold down the ALT key and drag the mouse pointer up or down to highlight each word.
When you’re using this tip, remember that you can make a vertical selection anywhere in your document.

Wednesday, March 7, 2007

when ctrl+enter doesnt work in IE

1. Go to the "Tools" menu on Internet Explorer then select "Internet Options"
2. Go to the Advanced tab
3. Under Browsing make sure your got a check on "Use inline AutoComplete"
4. Hit OK and you're good to go!